K-12 Program Overview

The foundation of PHA’s educational program is based on the following four pillars:

1. PHA’s Curriculum is based on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Teams of teachers develop, review, and revise curriculum maps for each subject to ensure vertical alignment and coverage of essential CCSS content and skills. The school’s Literacy and Mathematics Coordinators and campus-based instructional leaders conduct regular curriculum reviews to monitor progress against standards, enable mid-course corrections, and support horizontal and vertical alignment.

2. PHA’s Instructional Vision, aiming to cohere pedagogical priorities across campuses and strike a necessary balance between students’ cognitive and social/emotional needs, centers on these principles:
  • Student-Centered
  • Culturally-Responsive
  • Social-Emotional
  • Authentic
  • Standards-based
  • Rigorous
  • Differentiated

3. Restorative Practices serve as PHA’s cohering framework for building and sustaining positive school culture among students and adults. A deliberate departure from more traditional and punitive approaches to culture and discipline, Restorative Practices entail:
  • Creating safe spaces in the school environment for the exploration of identity
  • Employing culturally responsive, student-centered learning and teaching practices
  • Framing school discipline as an opportunity for deep social-emotional learning for students

4. The Collaborative Inquiry Cycle is employed to assess and improve curriculum and instruction on an ongoing basis. Teams of teachers collaborate weekly in either subject area or grade level teams to design instruction, assess learning, analyze and interpret assessment results, revise curriculum and adapt instruction in response (See Appendix E). While data analysis remains a key component of collaborative inquiry, in recent years, increasing emphasis has been devoted to instructional quality related to elements of the instructional vision.